Roskilde Festival 2016

Hip-hop duo leads Roskilde Festival’s 20 new additions

Hip-hop duo leads Roskilde Festival's 20 new additions
Macklemore & Ryan Lewis will be gracing the Orange stage at this years Roskilde. Photo: Der Robert/Flickr
20 new names have been added to the Roskilde festival line-up, bringing the total number of acts to 74, with 101 more to be announced at the beginning of April.

The new line up now includes the American hit hip hop duo Macklemore & Ryan Lewis and the British super group The Last Shadow Puppets, as well as a plethora of other bands from across the globe.

The hip hop duo Macklemore & Ryan Lewis rose to fame with a string of hits such as 'Can’t Hold Us', 'Same Love' and their number one single 'Thrift shop'. The duo released their newest album 'This Unruly Mess I've Made' this year, so the 100,000 strong crowd of music lovers can expect to hear new material as well as old favourites.

“We can’t wait to see Macklemore & Ryan Lewis on our biggest stage with their string of disarming hits and brand-new songs. They have truly become a headliner with everything that entails: great songs, loyal fans and a very special, visually overwhelming live show,” festival spokesman Anders Wahrén said.

The British super group The Last Shadow Puppets, fronted by Alex Turner of the Arctic Monkeys, will also be joining the stage with a new album 'Everything You’ve Come to Expect', due for release in April. This will be the first album the band have released in nearly eight years.

Alex Turner will be returning to Roskilde with Last of the Shadow Puppets this year. Photo: Jason Persse/Flickr

Tuesday's announcement also included home-grown Danish acts such as Choir of Young Believers, perhaps best known as the musicians behind the theme song to the internationally acclaimed Scandinavian crime drama 'The Bridge' (Broen).

The full 175 acts that will be performing at Roskilde will be announced at the beginning of April, organizers said.

The 2016 Roskilde Festival will take place June 25 through July 2, with the first four days serving as a “warm up” with up and coming acts from the Nordics before the main line-up kicks off. 

The 20 acts announced on Tuesday are:

Macklemore & Ryan Lewis (US)
At the Drive-In (US)
The Last Shadow Puppets (UK)
Blues Pills (SE)
Choir of Young Believers (DK)
Diät (DE)
Ex Eye (US)
Fox Millions Duo (US)
Freddie Gibbs (US)
Guardian Alien (US)
Kakkmaddafakka (NO)
Bersærk (DK)
Chinah (DK)
Emilie Ramirez (DK)
Gents (DK)
Gundelach (NO)
Have You Ever Seen the Jane Fonda Aerobic VHS? (FI)
Milkywhale (IS)
Reykjavíkurdætur (IS)
Sudakistan (SE)