Danish clubs learn Europa League fate

Midtjylland and Brøndby will face off against Southhampton and PAOK respectively.

Danish clubs learn Europa League fate
Midtjylland's Tim Sparv and Pione Sisto will face off against Southampton. Photo: Bo Amstrup
Danish champions Midtjylland have been drawn against English Premier League side Southampton in the play-offs for the Europa League as the draw was made on Friday.
Southampton's reward for beating Dutch outfit Vitesse Arnhem 5-0 on aggregate in the third qualifying round is a meeting with a Mdtjylland side who lost on away goals to APOEL of Cyprus in the Champions League third qualifying round.
Meanwhile, Brøndby will have to travel to Greece in order to qualify. The suburban Copenhagen club will face off against PAOK Saloniki.
In other matchups, Borussia Dortmund have been paired with Odds of Norway, while Ajax will take on Jablonec of the Czech Republic after being dumped out of the Champions League third qualifying round by Rapid Vienna.
Fenerbahce, who have invested big money this summer luring the likes of Robin van Persie, Nani and Simon Kjaer to Istanbul only to be beaten by Shakhtar Donetsk in the Champions League third qualifying round, will meet Atromitos of Greece.
The winners will join the 10 losers from the Champions League play-offs and 16 other sides who qualify directly — including Villarreal, Tottenham Hotspur, Liverpool, Schalke 04, Fiorentina, Napoli and Marseille – in the group stage draw.
Draw for the Europa League play-offs, made on Friday:
  •    Milsami Orhei (MDA) v Saint-Etienne (FRA)
  •    Altach (AUT) v Belenenses (POR)
  •    Zilina (SVK) v Athletic Bilbao (ESP)
  •    Steaua Bucharest (ROM) v Rosenborg (NOR)
  •    Zorya Luhansk (UKR) v Legia Warsaw (POL)
  •    Viktoria Pilsen (CZE) v Vojvodina (SRB)
  •    Jablonec (CZE) v Ajax (NED)
  •    Young Boys (SUI) v Qarabag (AZE)
  •    Molde (NOR) v Standard Liège (BEL)
  •    PAOK (GRE) v Brøndby (DEN)
  •    Bordeaux (FRA) v Kairat Almaty (KAZ)
  •    Lech Poznan (POL) v Videoton (HUN)
  •    Dinamo Minsk (BLR) v Salzburg (AUT)
  •    Panathinaikos (GRE) v Qäbälä (AZE)
  •    Astra Giurgiu (ROM) v AZ Alkmaar (NED)
  •    Rabotnicki (MKD) v Rubin Kazan (RUS)
  •    Southampton (ENG) v Midtjylland (DEN)
  •    Liberec (CZE) v Hajduk Split (CRO)
  •    Odd (NOR) v Borussia Dortmund (GER)
  •    Krasnodar (RUS) v HJK Helsinki (FIN)
  •    Atromitos (GRE) v Fenerbahce (TUR)
  •    FC Thun (SUI) v Sparta Prague (CZE)

Member comments

Log in here to leave a comment.
Become a Member to leave a comment.


‘I’m fine — under the circumstances’: Collapsed Danish striker tweets from hospital

Christian Eriksen, the Danish football player who collapsed on the pitch in his country's opening Euro 2020 game, said that he was doing "fine" in an Instagram post from hospital on Tuesday.

'I’m fine — under the circumstances': Collapsed Danish striker tweets from hospital
Danish striker Christian Eriksen tweeted a picture of himself in hospital. Photo: DBU

“I’m fine — under the circumstances, I still have to go through some examinations at the hospital, but I feel okay,” he wrote in a post accompanying a photo of him smiling and giving a thumbs-up while lying in bed.

In a scene that shocked the sporting world and beyond, the 29-year-old Inter Milan midfielder suddenly collapsed on the field in the 43rd minute of Denmark’s Group B game on Saturday against Finland in Copenhagen.


Medical personnel administered CPR as he lay motionless on the field for about 15 minutes before being carried off the pitch and rushed to hospital. He was later confirmed to have suffered cardiac arrest.

“Big thanks for your sweet and amazing greetings and messages from all around the world. It means a lot to me and my family,” he wrote in Tuesday’s post. “Now, I will cheer on the boys on the Denmark team in the next matches. Play for all of Denmark.”