For members


MAP: How Denmark’s travel guidance for EU and Schengen countries changes on June 26th

Whole swathes of the EU and Schengen countries are set to become "green" on Saturday, as Denmark adjusts its travel advisory. This is what the map of travel guidelines is likely to look like.

MAP: How Denmark's travel guidance for EU and Schengen countries changes on June 26th
Most of Europe will be classed as "green". Source: Datawrapper

Denmark on Saturday will enact its fourth phase of lifting of travel restrictions, at which point all EU and Schengen countries and regions currently classed as “yellow” will be given the revived “green” category in Denmark’s traffic-light travel scheme. 

This means that those travelling to or back to Denmark from most places in the EU and Schengen countries will not need to be show a test before departure or on arrival in Denmark, and will not need to isolate, making travel considerably easier. 

READ ALSO: Denmark to ease travel restrictions: What changes in Denmark this Saturday?

Judged by the latest travel guidelines issued by Denmark’s foreign ministry, this means the maps should look as follows: 

The following countries and regions should be "green": 


  • Austria
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • Germany
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovakia
  • Switzerland (although Appenzell Innerrhoden and Obwalden will be yellow). 



  • Bretagne
  • Nouvelle-Aquitaine
  • Occitanie
  • Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur
  • Corse
  • Guadeloupe (not on map)
  • Martinique (not on map)
  • Mayotte (not on map)


  • Kriti
  • Voreio Aigaio
  • Notio Aigaio
  • Anatoliki Makedonia, Thraki
  • Ipeiros
  • Ionia Nisia
  • Dytiki Ellada
  • Sterea Ellada
  • Peloponnisos


  • Galicia
  • Principado de Asturias 
  • Cantabria
  • Extremadura 
  • Comunitat Valenciana 
  • Illes Balears 
  • Región de Murcia 
  • Ciudad de Melilla
  • Canarias (not on map)

Districts ranked as "red" 

Four districts in the UK are currently ranked "red" due to the high prevalence of the infectious Delta Covid-19 variant, but this will be reevaluated on June 26th. 

  • Bedford 
  • Blackburn with Darwen
  • Bolton 
  • Rossendale

Member comments

Log in here to leave a comment.
Become a Member to leave a comment.
For members


Everything you need to know about travel to, from and around Denmark this Easter

Whether you're driving to the in-laws in northern Jutland, taking the train, or flying to your family elsewhere in the world, here's everything we know about travel to, from, or around Denmark this Easter.

Everything you need to know about travel to, from and around Denmark this Easter

Track work between Copenhagen and Odense 

From 11pm on Maundy Thursday (April 6th) till midnight on Easter Sunday (April 9th) there are replacement buses on the line between Copenhagen and Odense, as Denmark’s track operator Banedanmark carries out renovation work on the tracks. 

Express InterCity trains between Copenhagen and Aalborg and Esbjerg will also no longer stop in Valby, Ny Ellebjerg or Køge Nord from March 31st until April 10th.

From Easter Monday until April 29th, the InterCity InterCityLyn+ to Aarhus is suspended, with travellers instead advised to take the PendlerLyn during rush hour. 

You can find the details of the disruptions between Copenhagen and Slagelse here, and between Slagelse and Odense here

Check your journey on DSB’s Rejseplaner web app for the latest information. 


The Danish Road Directorate warned in its Easter traffic forecast of heavy traffic on Friday March 31st, particularly during the evening rush hour, when normal commuting traffic in and out of Copenhagen will be made even worse by people travelling to visit relatives over Easter.

Traffic is also expected to be heavier than usual on Saturday April 1st, Wednesday April 5th, and Thursday, April 6th.

The directorate expects return trips to Copenhagen after Easter Sunday on April 10th to be spread over several days, reducing the risk of traffic problems.  

It expects particularly heavy traffic on the E20 between Copenhagen, Odense and Esbjerg on the Jutland coast, and also on the E45 between Kolding and the German border at Padborg.

The coastal roads where many Danes have summer houses are also likely to be affected, with the directorate warning of traffic on national road 11 on the west coast of Jutland between Ribe and Ringkøbing, national road 16 between Hillerød on the outskirts of Copenhagen and northern Zealand, and national road 21 between Copenhagen and the Sjællands Odde peninsular in northwest Zealand. 

Here are the roads where heavy traffic is expected. 

Source: Danish Roads Directorate


While there are no strikes planned at Danish airports or among staff at the airlines servicing them, anyone flying to Spain, Germany, Italy, or the UK’s Heathrow airport should check to make sure that their flight is not going to be disrupted. 

Between now and April 13th, ground services and cargo handling unions in Spain working for Swissport are mounting 24-hour walkouts every Monday, Tuesday and Thursday. 

This will impact most Spanish airports, including Madrid-Barajas, Barcelona-El Prat, Reus, Alicante, Valencia, Murcia, Málaga, Almería, Salamanca, Valladolid, Burgos, Logroño, Zaragoza, Huesca, Lanzarote, Gran Canaria and Tenerife Sur airports. It is not yet clear which flights will be affected. 

The German transport unions Ver.di and EVG mounted a 24-hour mega strike on March 27th and have threatened further strikes around Easter if they do not get a better pay offer from transport operators. 

Those flying to Italy should keep in mind that air traffic controllers working for the company Enav are planning to strike from 1pm to 5pm on April 2nd. 

READ ALSO: Calendar of the transport strikes expected in Italy this spring

Finally, 1,400 security guards at Terminal 5 at London Heathrow Airport plan to hold rolling strikes for 10 days from March 31st until April 9th, threatening “huge disruption and delays… throughout Easter.”

Heathrow’s management have said that they aim to keep the airport “open and operational despite unnecessary threats of strike action by Unite”.