MAP: These are the areas of Denmark now under partial lockdown

MAP: These are the areas of Denmark now under partial lockdown
Photo: Datawrapper
UPDATE: Some 69 municipalities in Denmark would be under partial lockdown from Friday December 11th after the government added another 31 new areas due to a spike in Covid-19 cases.

Editor's note December 17th: The information in this article is now out of date. A full national lockdown has been announced and restrictions are in place nationwide. Further information here.


Restaurants, bars, cafes, gyms, sports centres and swimming pools are to be closed in the affected municipalities. Indoor areas at amusement parks, zoos, aquariums and similar types of attractions, as well as at museums, theatres, cinemas and libraries, will also all be closed to the public.

School children from 5th grade upwards in the affected municipalities are to be sent home, while public sector workers not in critical functions will work from home.

The 69 municipalities covered by the partial lockdown meant 79 percent the Danish population were affected by restrictions.  

Initially 38 municipalities were subject to the partial lockdown but after a spike in cases the government added another 31 areas on December 10th. The partial lockdown in these areas would come into effect the following day at 4pm.

All of the Zealand and Central Jutland regions will now be encompassed by the lockdown, along with Aalborg, the largest city not already under lockdown, and the central municipalities of Fredericia, Vejle and Middelfart.

The restrictions are due to remain in place until January 3rd 2021.


The remaining municipalities not under partial lockdown are still encompassed by national restrictions introduced in October, which have now been extended until the end of February. National restrictions also apply in lockdown areas where not superseded by the lockdown.



Member comments

Become a Member to leave a comment.Or login here.