Christian Eriksen heads Denmark's World Cup squad

Author thumbnail
The Local/AFP - [email protected]
Christian Eriksen heads Denmark's World Cup squad
Christian Eriksen in action for Tottenham Hotspur. Photo: AFP PHOTO / Geoff CADDICK /Ritzau Scanpix

Tottenham Hotspur's influential midfielder Christian Eriksen was among the 35 players named in Denmark's preliminary World Cup squad announced on Monday.


The 26-year-old playmaker was Denmark’s talisman during qualifying, scoring 11 goals in 12 qualification matches, including a magnificent hat-trick to crush Ireland in the qualification play-off second leg in Dublin.

He strengthened his standing as one of Tottenham’s leading players during the 2017-18 season, which concluded on Sunday, contributing 14 goals and 12 assists as the North London club came third in the English Premier League, securing Champions League qualification.

A number of other UK-based players, including goalkeepers Kasper Schmeichel of Leicester City and Jonas Lössl of Huddersfield Town, Chelsea defender Andreas Christensen and Southampton’s midfielder Pierre-Emile Højbjerg were also named in the preliminary squad.

The Danes are up against France, Australia and Peru in their first round next month in Russia.

World Cup squads must be reduced to 23 players by June 4th.

Denmark preliminary World Cup squad

Goalkeepers: Kasper Schmeichel (Leicester/ENG), Jonas Lössl (Huddersfield ENG), Frederik Rønnow (Brøndby), Jesper Hansen (FC Midtjylland).

Defenders: Simon Kjær (Sevilla/ESP), Andreas Christensen (Chelsea/ENG), Mathias Zanka Jørgensen (Huddersfield/ENG), Jannik Vestergaard (Borussia Mönchengladbach/GER), Andreas Bjelland (Brentford/ENG), Henrik Dalsgaard (Brentford/ENG), Peter Ankersen (FC Copenhagen), Jens Stryger (Udinese/ITA), Riza Durmisi (Real Betis/ESP), Jonas Knudsen (Ipswich/ENG), Nicolai Boilesen (FC Copenhagen).

Midfielders: William Kvist (FC Copenhagen), Thomas Delaney (Werder Bremen/GER), Lukas Lerager (Bordeaux/FRA) Lasse Schöne (Ajax/NED), Mike Jensen (Rosenborg), Christian Eriksen(Tottenham/ENG), Daniel Wass (Celta Vigo/ESP), Pierre-Emile Højbjerg (Southampton/ENG), Mathias Jensen (FC Nordsjælland), Michael Krohn-Dehli (Deportivo La Coruña/ESP), Robert Skov (FC Copenhagen).

Forwards: Pione Sisto (Celta Vigo/ESP), Martin Braithwaite (Bordeaux/FRA), Andreas Cornelius (Atalanta/ITA), Viktor Fischer (Copenhagen), Yussuf Poulsen (RB Leipzig/GER), Nicolai Jørgensen, (Feyenoord/NED), Nicklas Bendtner (Rosenborg), Kasper Dolberg (Ajax/NED), Kenneth Zohore (Cardiff/ENG).

READ ALSO: Sublime Eriksen propels Denmark to World Cup



Join the conversation in our comments section below. Share your own views and experience and if you have a question or suggestion for our journalists then email us at [email protected].
Please keep comments civil, constructive and on topic – and make sure to read our terms of use before getting involved.

Please log in to leave a comment.

See Also