Denmark gives extra 400 million kroner to Syria

Prime Minister Lars Løkke Rasmussen announced on Thursday announced a significant increase in Denmark's humanitarian contributions to war-torn Syria.

Denmark gives extra 400 million kroner to Syria
A woman inspects damage at a camp for internally displaced people after it was hit by what residents said was shelling carried out by government allied forces, near the Syrian-Turkish border in Jabal

Denmark will increase the amount of state donations to humanitarian aid in Syria by 400 million kroner ($60 million), bringing Danish contributions up to a total of 688 million ($103 million), the PM said on Twitter as a major donor conference got underway in London.

In the tweet, Rasmussen said that 688 million kroner would be given to help ‘in Syria and neighbouring countries. This includes the 288 million kroner announced by the government in September as a contribution the EU’s Turkey facility, reports TV2.

Denmark's contributions will be spread out between now and 2020. 

Rasmussen's tweet said that the Danish money would be used to support “humanitarian aid for victims of the war; police, human rights and democracy in Syria; and Turkey’s management of the refugee situation”.

But the Danish contribution looks small in comparison to neighbouring Norway, which pledged 10 billion Norwegian kroner (7.8 billion Danish kroner, $1.2 billion, €1.05 billion) in aid response to the Syrian conflict between now and 2020.  

The Norwegian contribution represents nearly one seventh of the $9 million the United Nations requested from participating countries in order to support neighbouring countries as well as democracy, human rights and eventual rebuilding within Syria.

Britain pledged $1.74 billion in aid, also to be spent between 2016 and 2020.

An Oxfam report released prior to the conference revealed that, in 2015, Denmark gave over three times the amount expected relative to its gross national income – making it the world’s third biggest relative donor to Syrian aid after Norway and Kuwait.