Here is Denmark’s new government

The Local Denmark
The Local Denmark - [email protected]
Here is Denmark’s new government
Rasmussen (centre) presented his cabinet members on Sunday morning. Photo: Keld Navntoft/Scanpix

Lars Løkke Rasmussen formally introduced his 17-person cabinet on Sunday morning. See who got what post here.


Lars Løkke Rasmussen officially assumed the role of Denmark’s prime minister on Sunday morning following a meeting with Queen Margrethe II. 
Rasmussen also released the names of his cabinet team, made up solely of members of his own Venstre party. Rasmussen decided to go it solo on Friday night after talks with other right-of-centre parties failed to reach consensus. 
Here then is Denmark’s new government:
Prime Minister Lars Løkke Rasmussen
Finance Minister Claus Hjort Frederiksen
Foreign Minisister Kristian Jensen
Justice Minister Søren Pind
Immigration and Housing Minister Inger Støjberg
Tax Minister Karsten Lauritzen
Culture and Church Minister Bertel Haarder
Transport and Buildings Minister Hans Christian Schmidt
Environment and Agriculture Minister Eva Kjer Hansen
Business and Growth Minister Troels Lund Poulsen
Social Minister and Minister of the Interior Karen Ellemann
Energy and Climate Minister Lars Christian Lilleholt
Minister for Children, Education and Equality Ellen Trane Nørby
Health and Elderly Minister Sophie Løhde
Higher Education and Research Minister Esben Lunde Larsen
Defence Minister and MInister for Nordic Affairs Carl Holst
Employment Minister Jørn Neergaard Larsen
Rasmussen was selected to become prime minister following the June 18 election despite Venstre finishing in third place with 19.5 percent of the vote, behind Helle Thorning-Schmidt's Social Democrats and the far-right Danish People’s Party (DF), which saw support jump to 21.1 percent from 12.3 percent.
Despite the poor election performance, Rasmussen became PM due to the support of DF, Liberal Alliance and the Conservatives.
With just 34 mandates, the Venstre government will be Denmark’s smallest since 1973. That government, led by Venstre’s Poul Hartling, had just 22 mandates behind it and lasted only 14 months. 


Join the conversation in our comments section below. Share your own views and experience and if you have a question or suggestion for our journalists then email us at [email protected].
Please keep comments civil, constructive and on topic – and make sure to read our terms of use before getting involved.

Please log in to leave a comment.

See Also