Hip-hop stars highlight Roskilde lineup release

All 166 acts for the 2015 Roskilde Festival were announced Thursday morning, completing a line-up that should particularly please fans of American hip-hop.

Hip-hop stars highlight Roskilde lineup release
With the full poster out, it's now time to get the flags ready and count down the days. Photo: Christian Hjorth/Roskilde Festival
The Roskilde Festival released its full 2015 lineup this morning, highlighted by hip-hop heavyweights Kendrick Lamar and Nicki Minaj. 
Other new acts included Ryan Adams, Hot Chip, Father John Misty, Die Antwoord, Einstürzende Neubauten, Foxygen, Africa Express and Perfume Genius.
The 85 new acts announced Thursday join previously-announced performers including Paul McCartney, Muse, Pharrell Williams, Mastodon and The War on Drugs. 
The big coup of the Thursday announcement was Kendrick Lamar, whose newly-released album To Pimp a Butterfly has been hailed by critics and set a single-day streaming record upon its release. 
With Lamar and Minaj joining Pharrell Williams and Run the Jewels, the 2015 edition of the Roskilde Festival is arguably more hip-hop-centric than previous editions, though fans of other genres should still find plenty to get excited about among the 166 acts that will play the festival. 
The festival’s video announcement can be seen here:

Festival organizers also announced this week that last year's edition set an all-time profit record off the strength of more than 100,000 tickets sold. The festival is a non-profit and donated its 26.7 million kroner profit to a variety of causes. 
Organizers said that lower clean-up costs played a major role in the record profit. 
The 2015 Roskilde Festival runs from June 27 – July 4, with the main musical acts performing over the last four days. Tickets are available now on the festival’s website. 
The full Roskilde poster. Click for larger version. 

Member comments

Log in here to leave a comment.
Become a Member to leave a comment.


Roskilde Festival reveals first names for 2016

Denmark's largest festival gives fans a little teaser with the first ten names added to next year's line-up.

Roskilde Festival reveals first names for 2016
Photo: Vegard Kristensen/Roskilde Festival
With the weather having made a turn for the colder and daylight hours steadily dwindling, there’s no better time to start thinking ahead to next summer’s festival season. 
Roskilde Festival, the largest music festival in Denmark, announced the first ten acts for its 2016 edition on Thursday.
Headlining the announcement were Canadian ‘slacker rocker’ Mac DeMarco, New York rapper Action Bronson and Australian singer-songwriter Courtney Barnett. 
The festival, which is gearing up for its 46th year, will have a total of 175 acts so the first batch represents only about five percent of the performers music fans can see between June 25th and July 2nd. 
“The festival is roughly nine months away, but we’re already busy putting together a line-up that’s both stylistically diverse and relevant. These qualities are very important to us and reflected by our announcements today that represent metal, rap, country, pop and much more,” the festival’s head of programme, Anders Wahrén, said. 
The Roskilde Festival attracts around 100,000 music fans each year. The non-profit festival is primarily driven by volunteers and donates its proceeds to worthy causes. The 2015 edition was fully sold-out and tickets for next year’s festival will go on sale next month. 
Organizers are currently soliciting fan requests for who should play in 2016. 
“This October we invite our audience to send us their music wishes, which we will collect and use as both inspiration and knowhow in the booking process over the course of the next year,” Wahrén said. 
Although an October line-up announcement may seem early, it actually comes later than Roskilde’s first announcement last year and more than a week after the heavy metal festival Copenhell triumphed its major booking of the legendary Black Sabbath for its 2016 edition. That concert will be Black Sabbath's last ever show in Denmark.
The ten acts introduced for the 2016 Roskilde Festival on Thursday were:
Action Bronson (US)
Mac Demarco (CA)
Courtney Barnett (AU)
Cattle Decapitation (US)
Colin Stetson & Sarah Neufeld (CA)
Ho99o9 (US)
Kuedo (DE)
Qwanqwa (ET)
Sleaford Mods (UK)
Sturgill Simpson (US)