UK dance duo Disclosure joins Roskilde line-up

Live electronica phenomenon Disclosure are back in Denmark this summer to headline the Roskilde festival, after a year away that saw the British brothers take a Grammy for best dance act.

The house duo are joining acts already announced such as Pharrell Williams, The War on Drugs and Muse, as well as some of the 22 new acts announced on Thursday, which included Florence + The Machine and Minneapolis hip-hop collective Doomtree.
Both Disclosure and Florence + The Machine will take to the stage this year on the back of hotly anticipated new album releases.  Other acts down to perform in the festival, which runs from June  27th to July 4th, include Enslaved, Every Time I Die, G-Eazy, Kwabs, Lamb of God, and St. Vincent.   
The organisers picked out “urban music” and “progressive black metal” as two of the most vibrant genres to be showcased. 
“New acts like Doomtree, G-Eazy and Kwabs show that the urban music scene remains extremely vital with new unbridled stars in the making, and fans of the most hard-hitting riffs should look forward to experienced progressive Norwegian black metal band Enslaved and metalcore from US act Every Time I Die,” they said. 
All-week festival tickets are going for DKK 1940 (€260), which includes access to the festival campsite.
Here's the official video announcing the line up. 
Below is the full list of new acts are added to the line-up on Thursday:
Florence + The Machine
Barrington Levy
The Gaslamp Killer Experience
Alice Boman
Chelsea Wolfe
Every Time I Die
Ferro Gaita
King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard
Kwamie Liv
Noura Mint Seymali
Silvana Imam
Young and In the Way
The list of all confirmed acts can be found here:

Member comments

Log in here to leave a comment.
Become a Member to leave a comment.


Denmark’s summer music festival hopes fade

The possibility of large-scale music festivals taking place in Denmark this summer has been described as “unrealistic” following the publication of expert recommendations for coronavirus-safe events.

Denmark’s summer music festival hopes fade
The Roskilde Festival during the glorious summer of 2018. Photo: Sofie Mathiassen/Ritzau Scanpix

Music events such as the Roskilde Festival, the largest of its kind in northern Europe, would not be able to take place as normal and must be without overnight guests under the recommendations, submitted in report form by an expert advisory group to the government on Friday.

The group, appointed as part of the national reopening plan, was tasked with looking at how festivals and other large events can take place this summer.

The recommendations will provide the basis political discussions which will form an agreement over large events which will be integrated into the reopening plan.

READ ALSO: Denmark enters new phase of reopening plan: Here’s what changed on April 21st

Seven various scenarios, including one for outdoors, standing events, were considered by the expert group in forming its recommendations. Two phases have been set down for eased restrictions on large events, which are currently banned due to the public assembly limit.

In the final phase of the restrictions towards the end of the summer, a maximum of 10,000 people would be permitted to attend an event. All attendees would be required to present a valid corona passport, and audiences would be split into sections of 2,000.

Although that could provide a framework for some events to take place, Roskilde Festival, which normally has a total of around 130,000 guests and volunteers including sprawling camping areas, appears to be impossible in anything resembling its usual format.

The festival was also cancelled in 2020.

Roskilde Festival CEO Signe Lopdrup, who was part of the expert group, said the festival was unlikely to go ahead should it be required to follow the recommendations.

“Based on the recommendations, we find it very difficult to believe it is realistic to organise festivals in Denmark before the end of the summer,” Lopdrup said in a written comment to broadcaster DR.

The restrictions would mean “that it is not possible to go ahead with the Roskilde Festival. That’s completely unbearable. But that’s where we’ve ended,” she added.

The news is potentially less bleak for other types of event with fewer participants, with cultural and sporting events as well as conferences also included in the recommendations submitted by the group.

Parliament has previously approved a compensation scheme for major events forced to cancel due to coronavirus measures this summer.